Town News|

…assures on sustenance of programme

Bayelsa State Governor, Senator Douye Diri, ably represented by the Chief of Staff, Government House, Yenagoa, Chief Sunday Benson Agadaga, has presented prizes to winners of the 5th edition of the online essay writing contest organised by the office of the Director, New Media to the Governor.

Chief Agadaga who congratulated the winners said the topic of the essay, “Ijaw Nation: The story behind the struggle”, was very apt to ensure the young ones appreciate the issues surrounding the challenges and development of Ijaw Nation.

“We must make conscious efforts to share the rich history of our people. The younger generation needs to know our story and so, this topic will afford the participants to get acquainted with the defining issues about the struggles for better deals for our people”, he stated.

Speaking further, he said: “Going to school is one thing, then carrying out what you have gone to study is another, it is by participating in things like this that will make people know how creative you are.

“When we talk about prosperity, it doesn’t just come from heaven, you also need to have initiatives and be creative to meet your desires and that is when prosperity comes.”

Chief Agadaga, commended the Governor for supporting the academic competition and that it is one of the avenues to meaningfully engage youths in the state.

Earlier, the initiator of the online essay competition, Mr. Kolawole Oredipe, Director, Bayelsa Government New Media, said, the 5th edition witnessed increased participation with over 90 entries.

Mr. Oredipe, who thanked the Governor for ensuring sustenance of the online essay, said the rewards to winners remain an avenue to spread prosperity to many undergraduates from Bayelsa State.

He added: “This essay is online-based and wherever you are as an undergraduate from Bayelsa State in Nigeria, you are eligible to participate. For instance, the winner of this edition is a Law student from the University of Calabar.”

The Director New Media also appreciated the professionalism of the judges, Dr. Sophia Obi and Mr. Ikiemoye Iniamagha, to diligently vet all entries and then came up with winners of the contest.

The champion received the sum of N200,000.00, the second placed received N100,000.00 while 3rd placed received N50,000.00.

Consolation prizes were also handed to the 4th and 5th placed.

The list of the winners are:

1st position: Oki Samuel (SILGA), University of Calabar.

2nd position: Adu Jackson (OGBIA), Niger Delta University.

3rd position: Bekeowei Oko (YELGA), Niger Delta University.

4th position: John Jenakumo (EKELGA), Rivers State University.

5th position: Akoko Helen (NEMBE), University of Benin.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close Search Window