Town News|

Winners of the 9th edition of the online essay contest for undergraduates organised by the Bayelsa Government New Media have been presented with their prizes.

Mr. Okoloafor Oyinkuro Paul of Medicine and Surgery in the Niger Delta University emerged champions in the essay with the topic, “Conquering the paradox of Bayelsa environment in driving prosperity for all” and received the N200,000.00 cash prize with certificate of participation.

Chiefson Ebikabo-Owei Tengi of University of Africa, Toru- Orua, emerged 2nd while John Ndiomu Miebiefe of NDU placed 3rd.

Consolation prizes were handed the 4th and 5th placed respectively, Esther Isivie George of Rivers State University, Port Harcourt and Jackson Ibebietor Adu of the NDU.

At the brief presentation of prizes, the Executive Assistant to the Bayelsa State Governor, Mrs. Josephine Ketebu-Thompson, congratulated the winners and assured that the Prosperity Government would continue to encourage youths in the State.

The Director, New Media to the Governor, Dr. Kola Oredipe, said the quarterly online essay for Bayelsa undergraduates was designed to build capacity of the students and prepare them for future opportunities.

One of the judges for the essay contest, Dr. Sophia Obi, said the quality of the essays had significantly improved over the time.

She urged them to explore other writing competitions at the national and international levels.

Comments are closed.

Close Search Window